Chocolate Pecan Pie

I think it is important to maintain a healthy and active lifestyle, but I also think it’s necessary to indulge in things you love every so often 🙂  I decided to make Chocolate Pecan Pie, which I have been wanting to do for a long time.  It was surprisingly really simple (granted, I did not make the crust myself).  I was a little nervous for it, but got great feed back from the party!

1 unbaked pie crust
2 cups of dark chocolate chips
2 cups of pecan halves or pieces
1 T flour
1/2 c. butter
1/2 c. packed light brown sugar
2 eggs
2 egg whites
1/2 c. dark corn syrup
2 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp salt

Beat butter and sugar in a large mixer bowl until well-blended.  Add eggs, one at a time.  Add in corn syrup, vanilla and salt.  This may look a little curdled. Mix in one cup of pecans and all the chocolate chips.  (After my results, I recommend melting the chips before!)  Lay the other cup of pecans in the pie crust, and lay the mixture over it.

Bake at 325 degrees for 55-60 minutes until outer edges are set and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with just melted chocolate.  The center will still be jiggly.  Sprinkle powdered sugar when cooled, if desired.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

