The Farmer’s Market

This past weekend, I had a great yoga session and capped it off with a visit to the Mar Vista Farmer’s Market.  Going to the farmer’s market is one of my all-time favorite things to do.  I get so excited over all the sights, the smells, the farmer’s stories, and the tastes… it’s all so fresh.

I get one of those feelings where I feel genuinely happy, completely alive, and grateful for everything around me.  Where I feel so happy in that moment, I wish I could stop time, embrace the joy, and hold onto it for weeks. I couldn’t have had a better start to my day!

I always make a stop at the hummus and indian spread vendors for a quick bite and buy… they are divine!

 

I didn’t have a crepe this week, but the savory and sweet crepes, cooked by the authentic, French-speaking chefs are just too tantalizing.

Spinach, Goat Cheese, Sundried Tomatoes, Mushroom Crepe

All the vegetables are so colorful and crisp.  I love to shoot up close to see the detailed patterns, and like the fingerprints on a hand, they make each one unique and individual.


It is always best to buy fruits and vegetables seasonally—they are higher quality, cheaper and taste a whole lot better.  Here’s a little guide on picking on the freshest vegetables that are in season right now!

In season in January and February

  • Brussels sprouts (Jan only)
  • Cabbage
  • Carrots
  • Kale
  • Leeks
  • Turnip
  • Spinach
  • Apples
  • Pears

How to pick out brussel sprouts:
Look for a fresh, bright-green color, tight fitting outer leaves, firm body, and blemish free.
How to pick out cabbage: 
Look for firm or hard heads of cabbage that are heavy for their size. Outer leaves should be a good green or red color, reasonably fresh, and free from serious blemishes
How to pick out other greens: Kale, turnip, spinach, etc
Leaves that are fresh, young, tender, free from defects, and that have a good, healthy, green color.
Happy shopping!
One thought on “The Farmer’s Market

Leave a Reply

