Apple-Cinnamon Oat Bran Muffins

I bought oat-bran for the first time because I have been wanting to make bran muffins (my favorite) for awhile now!  I finally got the time to make some last night.  I attempted to bake something healthier but still yummy, which led me to this recipe.

Apple-Cinnamon Oat Bran Muffins (from Women’s Health Magazine)
makes about 24 muffins

1 c. oat bran
2 c. whole wheat flour
.5 c. flaxseed (I used an extra .25c of oat bran instead)
2 tsp. baking soda
3 tsp. baking powder
2.5 tsp. cinnamon
2 tsp. nutmeg
2 eggs
8 T. canola oil
.5 c. sugar
2/3 c. applesauce (I used 2.25 c. for moisture)
.5 c. chopped nuts
(I also added 2 tsp vanilla extract.. I love that stuff!)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together bran, flour, flaxseed, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, and nutmeg.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together egg and oil until smooth. Stir in applesauce and sugar (and vanilla extract). Combine mixtures and fold in pecans.
  4. Spoon batter into paper-lined muffin cups. Bake for 22 to 25 minutes or until tops spring back when lightly touched. Cool on a wire rack.


I sprinkled a pinch of oatmeal on each one, just for looks šŸ™‚  They were very tasty!  The added applesauce definitely gave it moisture, but I would like to try adding a bit more cinnamon and use brown sugar.  They make for excellent breakfast muffins.  Plus, they are whole wheat and have 3 g of fiber each muffin!

mixing in the oat bran

Fresh out of the oven!

so fresh and steaming hot šŸ™‚
I also made little baby muffins!

Nutritional Information: (per serving)

Calories
141.6 cal
Fat
8.6 g
Saturated Fat
.9 g
Cholesterol
17.6 mg
Sodium
162.4 mg
Carbohydrates
16.2 g
Sugars
5.1 g
Dietary Fiber
3 g
Protein
3.3g
Enjoy!!
One thought on “Apple-Cinnamon Oat Bran Muffins

Leave a Reply

