Vegetable Gratin

I came upon a zucchini-tomato gratin recipe and thought it looked delicious!  I have never made gratin and I don’t even think I had eaten it before, but it looked like something I would enjoy.  I had a bunch of other veggies, so I figured I would throw those in as well.  So, it ended up being a zucchini-tomato-brussel sprout-asparagus-broccolini gratin! 🙂
This dish is packed with vegetables, making it very healthy by providing nutrients, minerals and antioxidants.  But did you know that the way you cook your vegetables can alter the nutrient content?  When you cook vegetables in water (blanching or boiling), many of these vitamins and nutrients seep into the water, going to waste.  The most common nutrient lost is Vitamin C.  In order to retain the maximum nutrients, cook your vegetables with as little water as possible.  By stir-frying, steaming, or baking/roasting (as seen here), you will be getting the most out of your vegetables.

Veggie Gratin

3 zucchinis
1 bunch asparagus
1 onion, chopped
15 brussel sprouts, halved
Baby tomatoes, halved
1 bunch broccolini
12 oz mozzarella cheese
Bread crumbs

  1. First, pan-grill the zucchini (this ensures they will be fully cooked)
  2. Toss chopped vegetables (minus zucchini) in olive oil and salt
  3. Layer the chopped onions on the bottom of an iron skillet or baking pan.
  4. On top of the onions, place the first layer of mixed vegetables
  5. Add a layer of zucchini
  6. Add a layer of cheese and sprinkle bread crumbs.
  7. Repeat until the pan is full
  8. Bake at 400 degrees for about 40 minutes, or until the cheese is bubbling
Layer of veggies
Add cheese and bread crumbs

Freshly roasted, right out of the oven

Enjoy!
As you may know, I’m not a huge cheese person, so I went easy on cheese for half of the gratin, but on the other half, I loaded it on for my cheese-loving friends.  It was delicious right out of the oven, the bread crumbs were crispy and the veggies were well roasted!

There are plenty of vegetables in this dish, which means only one thing…. fiber!!  Although there is a lot of fiber, there isn’t much protein so I would recommend this as a side dish.  Nonetheless, it is still a filling dish and very tasty!  It can be made year-round with various seasonal veggies.  I can’t wait to make this with butternut squash in the fall.  Next time, I am going to add tofu or chicken to improve the protein content!

Leave a Reply

