Obsession: Roasted Veggie Sandwiches

If you asked me what my favorite food is, I would say a sandwich.  People think it’s strange, but I say that because I love the heck out of a good sandwich.  What kind?  Oh goodness, too many to pick from.  There are also a LOT of bad sandwiches out there, but boy, when you get that fresh, gourmet sandwich (drool), there is nothing better.

My recent obsession is a grilled vegetable sandwich and I decided to whip one up at home the other day.  Here is one of my favorite, easiest, and most delicious open faced sandwiches that I love to eat.  You can make this in no time at all.  It’s this simple:

  1. Chop up your veggies (I used peppers, broccoli, asparagus, eggplant… anything but the kitchen sink)
  2. Heat a little olive oil in the pan and toss in the veggies.  I like to use just a smidge of oil because it helps blacken the veggies, giving it the burnt taste. (I guess ‘charred’ would be a more restaurant appropriate word… but let’s be real, its burnt.)
  3. Toast the bread
  4. Spread on some pesto
  5. Pile on the veggies when they are done

Yes, I know, it’s easy.  Too easy that I almost didn’t write about it.  But it’s quite pretty, so I did!  🙂

the ‘charred’ veggies

pile it on!
Some goat cheese on top, please!

4 thoughts on “Obsession: Roasted Veggie Sandwiches

Leave a Reply

